Buffalo Translational Consortium News

CTRC Hosts Clinical and Translational Research Colloquium

Posted on 04/29/13 at 01:44 pm
Dr. Steven Fliesler and Dr. Leonard Epstein, Co-directors Translational Pilot Program

The Second Annual Clinical and Translational Research Colloquium was held on April 12 at the CTRC. Organized by Drs. Kenneth Tramposch, Steven Fliesler and Leonard Epstein this colloquium provides a venue for the winners of pilot studies in clinical and translational research to present their work to a broad audience of faculty, trainees and staff of institutions of the Buffalo Translational Consortium (BTC). Approximately 100 people attended the event which featured talks on cutting edge work that is advancing translational science.

The Translational Pilot Studies Program provides support to investigators to develop novel methods, collaborate in interdisciplinary teams and test the feasibility of novel approaches to translational research. These seed funds are intended to enable key preliminary studies to develop proposals that will generate major extramural support.

The Translational Pilot Program is made possible by the critical support of the following offices of BTC institutions:

•    The Dean’s Office of the following schools:
        School Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
        School of Dental Medicine
        School of Nursing
        School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
        School of Public Health and Health Professions
        School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
•    UB Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development
•    UB Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences
•    Roswell Park Cancer Institute

The following teams were awarded support based on a rigorous, two-tiered peer review:

2012-2013 Pilot Studies Awarded

Chulhong Kim, *George Chen, Philip McCarthy, Theresa Hahn, Hong Liu, Maureen Ross, Paul Bogner, and Greg Wilding
•    UB School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
•    Roswell Park Cancer Institute
“Multifunctional optical imaging probe for cutaneous chronic graft versus host disease lesions”

Animesh A. Sinha, *Kristina Seiffert-Sinha, Norma J. Nowak, Song Liu, Richard W. Plunckett, and Raminder Grover
•    UB School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
•    Roswell Park Cancer Institute
“Novel multiplex autoantigen arrays for biomarker discovery in skin autoimmunity”

Javier G. Blanco, *Tracey O’Connor, and Vijay Iyer
•    UB School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
•    Roswell Park Cancer Institute
“Anthracycline-related cardiomyopathy in breast cancer patients: impact of carbonyl reductase 3 genotype status on echocardiographic measurements of cardiomyopathy”

*Anthony Campagnari, Nicole Luke-Marshall, Thomas Russo, and Thomas Mang
•    UB School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
•    UB School of Dental Medicine
“Adapting photodynamic therapy into a novel treatment for bacterial infections”

*Brahm H. Segal, Scott Abrams, and Kunle Odunsi
•    UB School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
•    Roswell Park Cancer Institute
“Overcoming myeloid cell-mediated immunosuppression to enhance vaccine efficacy in ovarian cancer”

*Daniel D. Swartz and Stelios T. Andreadis
•    UB School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
•    UB School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
“One size fits all.  Vascular graft – tissue engineered vasculature”

*Presenter at the Second Annual Colloquium

See this link for a story on the Colloquium.

9.4 Tesla MRI Installed in CTRC

Posted on 04/25/13 at 01:42 pm
MR Imager on rollers on the seventh floor of the CTRC nearing its "home" in the Imaging Center

On Saturday April 13, a crane lifted a 5 and a half ton magnet of a 9.4 tesla Bruker Biospec MR Imager into the seventh floor door of the CTRC. After the magnet was carefully jacked onto rollers, it was moved over reinforced floors and installed in the CTRC Imaging Center. This imager will be a powerful tool for researchers in the Buffalo Translational Consortium to perform state-of-the-art preclinical imaging studies.

Support to purchase the imager was provided by the UB School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and was facilitated through the Hunter James Kelly Research Institute.

The CTRC Imaging Center now has a GE Discovery PET-CT 690 scanner supported by an NIH Shared Instrumentation grant (John Canty MD, Principal Investigator) along with the Bruker micro MRI just installed. It is anticipated that these imagers will be operational over the next several months. In addition, a Toshiba Aquilon 320 slice CT and a Toshiba Vantage Titan 3 Tesla MR scanner are expected to be installed in the Imaging Center through an agreement with Toshiba later this year.

The Buffalo Translational Consortium Is Now An Institutional Member of ResearchMatch!

Posted on 04/01/13 at 01:40 pm

ResearchMatch is a national, web-based volunteer research registry that brings researchers and volunteers together in an anonymous, secure and convenient way to enhance enrollment in clinical studies.  The registry currently has over 34,000 volunteers registered nationally.

Registered volunteers receive information about studies anonymously.  Their information is not released until they decide to allow the researcher to see it for contact purposes.  Researchers with a UB affiliation may register their IRB-approved studies to find willing participants that ‘match’ their study needs.  Additional information may be found at:  https://www.researchmatch.org

We are currently meeting with our local IRBs to establish the process for ResearchMatch to be utilized as a recruitment tool and anticipate the process to be fully defined and available for researchers by May 1, 2013.  In the meantime, we are embarking on a campaign to increase the number of volunteers in the Western New York region registered in the system.  We encourage you to spread the word. People interested in becoming a volunteer may register at: https://www.researchmatch.org.  

As word spreads to researchers and volunteers, we anticipate that ResearchMatch will become an increasingly effective tool for BTC researchers over the coming months.
To register as a researcher with ResearchMatch, complete the Researcher Interest Form at: https://www.researchmatch.org/partners/index_researcherinterest.php

For additional information or questions about using ResearchMatch as a recruitment tool for your studies, please contact the UB Research Match Institutional Liaison:

Kimberly Brunton RN MSN
Clinical Research Nurse Manager
Clinical and Translational Research Center
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Page 6 of 17